Back to the Trails

IMG_0831

This was the view I experienced this morning thanks to making a friend through Strava.  I have heard over and over that there are many trails in the mountains/high hills outside of Mexico City.  Unfortunately, there are no maps to download and none of the trails have signs or markings.  Someone needs to show you and/or you need to memorize it all yourself.  It’s a shame because there is some spectacular terrain.  Today’s run was two semi-different 3.7km loops at 2860m/9300 ft.  We did around 14km of running.  After running thousands upon thousands of kilometers on concrete and pavement, the trail felt like I was running on cushions–bliss if you ask me.

It was definitely good to meet a local runner and start to break out of the same loops I do on a daily basis.  My rejuvenated attitude and positivity already seems to be paying off.  If I can learn more of these trails at 10000 ft elevation, it will be incredibly helpful come 3 months from now when the 100 miler is upon me.  The icing on the cake today was to share the trails with my lovely wife, too.  Happy day indeed!

Leave a Reply

