A Renewal of Sorts

MD_Route_42Today I celebrate another year completed on this rotating globe named Earth.  I have never been one much for parties and hoopla but for some odd reason this year it feels like I should recognize and celebrate the occasion.  Over the past couple months, I have found myself becoming more introspective as well as having the desire to learn and challenge myself increasing.  I’m not sure where it originates but sometimes when you feel life pulling you in a positive direction, you need to go with it.

I started the year training very well but things derailed in April causing my level of fitness to fall apart and added many kilos back that I worked off.  Rather than dwell in the setback, I looked forward and wanted to figure out what do I need to do to get things going again.

First, I need to run a qualifying race by the end of October 2017 to be eligible to enter in the WSER 2018 drawing.  Since I didn’t get picked in 2017, I will have two names in the hat, provided I qualify.  I was going to run the UTMX 100 km in October–which would be convenient since it’s only hours away from where I live.  The problem was that when I went to sign up (at the same time I did last year) it was already sold out.  I guess the stars were trying to tell me that wasn’t my race this year.  I searched for other races in October and sitting right there was the Javelina Jundred.  I have heard lots of great things about the race but, and that’s a big but, it’s 100 miles not 100 km.  I have only run one 100 miler and that was two years ago.  Instead of worrying, I have put myself in “figure it out” mode.  I have around 16-17 weeks to prepare.  I believe it will be enough but I don’t think I’ll be as prepared as I was for the Keys 100.  That said, I simply need to finish the race in 30 hours.  I am sure I can do that as long as any unexpected injuries or incidents pop up during the race.

Going forward, I have decided to challenge myself in many different ways in this next year of my life:

  • Complete the Javelina Jundred
  • Write in this blog quite regularly (hopefully daily)
  • Focus on my training like never before–getting good sleep, no alcohol, clean eating, etc.
  • Renew my commitment to a whole food-plant based diet–I went vegan all of 2015 and the beginning of 2016 but then reverted to vegetarian/pescatarian.
  • Be more mindful and intentional of my actions and decisions.
  • Explore meditation–finally! (I have been learning and thinking about it for at least 20 years)

That is just a portion of what has been rattling around my mind but I think with writing, more will flow naturally.

To reward myself today, I ran 43 km to mark the first day of the 43rd year of my life.  I will post a separate article about the fun run around “La Ciudad de México”.

43k

 

2 thoughts on “A Renewal of Sorts

  1. Good to see, Avery! Can’t believe it’s now been >2 years since we first “met”.

    Best of luck this fall! I was really hoping you’d run Rio Del Lago. I’m 99% sure I’m gonna do it (with my good friend Jacob Rydman, whom I met *on* that trail/course running American River 50, six years ago — he then paced me 38 miles at WSER in ’12). I consider it the “junior varsity” Western States — encompassing the last 20 miles of that course.

    Keep running! -Joe

    Like

  2. Thanks Joe! You know that silly me thought that all the qualifiers in November and December were for WSER 2019. I just went to their site and sorted by month again and saw that there are a few November races like Rio Del Lago. I wish I would have noticed that before signing up at Javelina. It would have been nice to run it with you—or better said, run the same race as you as you were many miles up the trail. LOL I will definitely keep this race in mind for 2018 as good training for my eventual time at WSER. Cheers

    Like

Leave a Reply

